Ash price per board foot

How much does ash lumber cost? Across 33 publicly posted dealer prices checked in October 2026, ash has a median of $6.54 per board foot, ranging $3.95–$9.25. Data comes from dealer price sheets in AZ, FL, GA, IN, MA, MI, NC, OH, ON, TX, VA, WA; every price links to its source.

By thickness

ThicknessMedianRangePrices
4/4$6.00$4.50–$7.9912
5/4$6.58$5.50–$7.506
6/4$7.25$5.65–$7.753
8/4$7.00$3.95–$8.009
12/4$7.50$7.50–$7.501
16/4$9.25$9.25–$9.251
not stated$8.00$8.00–$8.001

Rough vs surfaced

SurfacingMedianRangePrices
Rough$6.02$4.50–$9.258
Surfaced$6.87$4.50–$8.004
Not stated$6.90$3.95–$8.0021

All ash prices

Affiliate partner: The Knotty Lumber Co. is an affiliate partner. If you order through Buy at Knotty (affiliate link), we earn a 10% commission at no extra cost to you. Knotty ships from Canada (Hamilton, Ontario), so US buyers may owe import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees that are not included in the listed prices. That never changes prices, medians, ranges or sort order. Affiliate disclosure.

ThickSurfacing$/BFDealerLocationShips?Checked
8/4not stated$3.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$4.50Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$4.50Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.25Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.25C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$5.50C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
6/4not stated$5.65C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
8/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$5.75Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.75C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough$5.85The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.90Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4rough$5.95The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4rough$5.95The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$6.09Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$6.10The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$6.25Odd Wood LumberPort Richey, FLNot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$6.54Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
5/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$6.63Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$6.90Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.00Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$7.10The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
4/4not stated$7.25Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$7.25The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.28Odd Wood LumberPort Richey, FLNot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$7.50Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
12/4rough$7.50The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$7.75Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.85Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.95The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4S2S (Select & Better)$7.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
not statedS2S/S3S (FAS)$8.00The Wood ShedArlington, TXNot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$8.00The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
16/4rough$9.25The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16

Do these dealers ship?

DealerLocationShips?What the dealer's site saysWhere we found it
Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)Ships by UPS (small orders) or common-carrier freight (long or large orders), with a shipping estimate by ZIP in the cart; delivers within 100 miles of the plant with its own truck; in-store pickup availablesource (2026-10-16)
Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup onlyHardwood dimensional lumber 'is typically not available for shipping and is intended for local, on-site purchase only'; the site ships live-edge slabs by freight within the contiguous USsource (2026-10-16)
C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; customers hand-pick lumber at the warehouse, and the site says it serves northern and central Virginia, Richmond 'and beyond'source (2026-10-16)
Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site gives shop hours and asks buyers to call to confirm availability before visitingsource (2026-10-16)
Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot statedNo shipping policy found. Site says it serves southwest Michigan incl. Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Detroit and Chicago areas; About page says staff 'sometimes makes deliveries'source (2026-10-16)
KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)Online lumber orders are milled to order, typically about 2 weeks 'to mill and have ready to ship'; contact page asks shipping questions to include a ZIP code; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Odd Wood LumberPort Richey, FLNot statedNo hardwood-lumber shipping policy found; the builders page offers 'pickup or delivery' for building materials; showroom open to the publicsource (2026-10-16)
The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)Own-truck delivery within NC ($59-$89 by area) and UPS/LTL shipments nationwide; call for freight rates; smaller orders can ship by UPS; also pickup at Gibsonville and Salisburysource (2026-10-16)
The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate)Hamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)Ships from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Free shipping to the US and Canada applies to products advertised as free-shipping (lumber packs and bundles); the by-size lumber priced here shows 'Shipping calculated at checkout'. Ships by freight broker, often within 5 business days. Orders to the US may be charged import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees by the carrier, paid by the buyer and not included in the price. Returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Prices are as shown on its US storefront (USD).source (2026-10-17) · Buy at Knotty (affiliate link) (disclosure)
The Wood ShedArlington, TXNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site describes a local wood supply store open to the public (walk-in showroom)source (2026-10-16)
The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)Online shop lists 'Shipping' and 'Store pickup' options on lumber items; its price list says listed prices are only valid for in-store purchases; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot statedNo retail shipping policy found; site mentions 'just-in-time delivery' for wholesale and says retail buyers can 'pick a convenient loading and transportation option'source (2026-10-16)
Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)Lumber product pages offer a 'Get Full Delivered Quote' from board footage and delivery ZIP code; carrier and shipping area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)Ships lumber by FedEx, USPS or truck freight (rate shown by cart estimate or by quote; 84 in. max by ground, longer by LTL freight) and also ships overseas; scheduled pickup at Phoenix, Tempe and Tucson storessource (2026-10-16)

Shipping details come from each dealer's own site as of the date shown; “Not stated” means we found no shipping policy, not that the dealer does not ship. Always confirm with the dealer.

Buying tips from the data

Report a price

Paid for lumber recently? Share it. Reports are reviewed before they appear.

Get the monthly Lumber Price Report

Real hardwood prices by species and region, once a month. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Other species

Cherry · Hard Maple · Hickory · Mahogany · Poplar · Red Oak · Sapele · Soft Maple · Walnut · White Oak

Ash prices by state

Arizona · California · Colorado · Florida · Georgia · Indiana · Massachusetts · Michigan · North Carolina · Ohio · Pennsylvania · Texas · Virginia · Washington

Need to know how many board feet a project takes? Try the free board foot calculator.