How much does walnut lumber cost? Across 54 publicly posted dealer prices checked in October 2026, walnut has a median of $13.12 per board foot, ranging $6.99–$29.21. Data comes from dealer price sheets in AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, IN, MA, MI, NC, OH, ON, OR, PA, TX, VA, WA; every price links to its source.
| Thickness | Median | Range | Prices |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4/4 | $12.03 | $6.99–$19.20 | 18 |
| 5/4 | $10.50 | $8.68–$20.75 | 9 |
| 6/4 | $14.00 | $10.50–$19.99 | 7 |
| 8/4 | $13.95 | $10.75–$29.21 | 15 |
| 12/4 | $17.00 | $14.75–$25.99 | 3 |
| 16/4 | $18.50 | $18.50–$18.50 | 1 |
| not stated | $14.00 | $14.00–$14.00 | 1 |
| Surfacing | Median | Range | Prices |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rough | $13.00 | $9.75–$29.21 | 17 |
| Surfaced | $13.50 | $7.99–$25.99 | 10 |
| Not stated | $13.25 | $6.99–$18.00 | 27 |
Affiliate partner: The Knotty Lumber Co. is an affiliate partner. If you order through Buy at Knotty (affiliate link), we earn a 10% commission at no extra cost to you. Knotty ships from Canada (Hamilton, Ontario), so US buyers may owe import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees that are not included in the listed prices. That never changes prices, medians, ranges or sort order. Affiliate disclosure.
| Thick | Surfacing | $/BF | Dealer | Location | Ships? | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4/4 | not stated | $6.99 | Odd Wood Lumber | Port Richey, FL | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | S2S (13/16") | $7.99 | SoCalTrim | Wildomar, CA | Yes (local delivery only) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | not stated | $8.68 | Odd Wood Lumber | Port Richey, FL | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | KD, hit-and-miss planed (Rustic grade) | $9.00 | Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | rough (KD, Sel&Btr) | $9.75 | Hickory & Oak Lumber | Decatur, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | rough (KD, Sel&Btr) | $10.00 | Hickory & Oak Lumber | Decatur, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | rough | $10.00 | Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | KD, hit-and-miss planed (Rustic grade) | $10.00 | Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | rough | $10.45 | The Hardwood Store of NC | Gibsonville, NC | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | rough | $10.45 | The Hardwood Store of NC | Gibsonville, NC | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | rough (KD, Sel&Btr) | $10.50 | Hickory & Oak Lumber | Decatur, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | rough | $10.50 | Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | not stated | $10.50 | Cygnus Lumber | Virginia Beach, VA | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $10.75 | Cygnus Lumber | Virginia Beach, VA | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | KD, hit-and-miss planed (Rustic grade) | $11.00 | Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | not stated | $11.00 | Goby Walnut Products | Aurora, OR | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | rough (KD, Sel&Btr) | $11.50 | Hickory & Oak Lumber | Decatur, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge) | $11.50 | Detwiler Hardwood Lumber | Indianapolis, IN | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | S2S | $11.80 | Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier) | Vancouver, WA | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge) | $12.25 | Detwiler Hardwood Lumber | Indianapolis, IN | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | not stated | $12.25 | Berkshire Products | Sheffield, MA | Pickup only | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | not stated | $12.50 | Wolverine Hardwoods | Allegan, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | not stated | $12.75 | Goby Walnut Products | Aurora, OR | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | not stated | $12.85 | Berkshire Products | Sheffield, MA | Pickup only | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | S2S (Select & Better) | $12.99 | Woodworkers Source | Phoenix, AZ | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | rough | $13.00 | Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | not stated | $13.00 | Wolverine Hardwoods | Allegan, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $13.25 | C.P. Johnson Lumber | Elkwood, VA | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $13.30 | Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier) | Vancouver, WA | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | rough | $13.50 | Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | not stated | $13.95 | KenCraft Company | Toledo, OH | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | rough | $13.95 | The Hardwood Store of NC | Gibsonville, NC | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| not stated | S2S/S3S (FAS) | $14.00 | The Wood Shed | Arlington, TX | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | not stated | $14.00 | Wolverine Hardwoods | Allegan, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | not stated | $14.60 | The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partner | Hamilton, ON | Yes (US and Canada) | 2026-10-17 |
| 12/4 | rough | $14.75 | The Hardwood Store of NC | Gibsonville, NC | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $15.00 | Wolverine Hardwoods | Allegan, MI | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | not stated | $15.25 | KenCraft Company | Toledo, OH | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $15.25 | KenCraft Company | Toledo, OH | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | KD, hit-and-miss planed (FAS) | $15.50 | Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | not stated | $16.50 | The Wood Yard | Concord, GA | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $16.90 | The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partner | Hamilton, ON | Yes (US and Canada) | 2026-10-17 |
| 12/4 | rough | $17.00 | Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | not stated | $17.00 | The Wood Yard | Concord, GA | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | KD, hit-and-miss planed (FAS) | $17.50 | Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | KD, hit-and-miss planed (FAS) | $18.00 | Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | 2026-10-16 |
| 16/4 | rough | $18.50 | Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | S2S (clear one side) | $18.99 | Woodworkers Source | Phoenix, AZ | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 4/4 | rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8') | $19.20 | Baird Brothers Sawmill | Canfield, OH | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 6/4 | S2S (clear one side) | $19.99 | Woodworkers Source | Phoenix, AZ | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 5/4 | rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8') | $20.75 | Baird Brothers Sawmill | Canfield, OH | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | S2S (clear one side) | $21.99 | Woodworkers Source | Phoenix, AZ | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 12/4 | S2S (clear one side) | $25.99 | Woodworkers Source | Phoenix, AZ | Yes (nationwide) | 2026-10-16 |
| 8/4 | rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8') | $29.21 | Baird Brothers Sawmill | Canfield, OH | Yes (area not stated) | 2026-10-16 |
| Dealer | Location | Ships? | What the dealer's site says | Where we found it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baird Brothers Sawmill | Canfield, OH | Yes (area not stated) | Ships by UPS (small orders) or common-carrier freight (long or large orders), with a shipping estimate by ZIP in the cart; delivers within 100 miles of the plant with its own truck; in-store pickup available | source (2026-10-16) |
| Berkshire Products | Sheffield, MA | Pickup only | Hardwood dimensional lumber 'is typically not available for shipping and is intended for local, on-site purchase only'; the site ships live-edge slabs by freight within the contiguous US | source (2026-10-16) |
| C.P. Johnson Lumber | Elkwood, VA | Not stated | No shipping policy found; customers hand-pick lumber at the warehouse, and the site says it serves northern and central Virginia, Richmond 'and beyond' | source (2026-10-16) |
| Cygnus Lumber | Virginia Beach, VA | Not stated | No shipping policy found; site describes yard pickup (pick boards or email a list for pickup) and phone, text or online ordering for the Hampton Roads area | source (2026-10-16) |
| Detwiler Hardwood Lumber | Indianapolis, IN | Not stated | No shipping or delivery policy found; site gives shop hours and asks buyers to call to confirm availability before visiting | source (2026-10-16) |
| Goby Walnut Products | Aurora, OR | Yes (area not stated) | Most small pieces ship by UPS and larger orders by a freight broker on a box truck; call or email to order and arrange shipping | source (2026-10-16) |
| Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade) | Oxford, PA | Yes (nationwide) | Ships by UPS Ground, TForce Freight, ABF, FedEx Freight or Estes; terms quote 2-3 days east of the Mississippi and 7-10 days to the West Coast; international limited to envelope-size samples | source (2026-10-16) |
| Hickory & Oak Lumber | Decatur, MI | Not stated | No shipping policy found. Site says it serves southwest Michigan incl. Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Detroit and Chicago areas; About page says staff 'sometimes makes deliveries' | source (2026-10-16) |
| KenCraft Company | Toledo, OH | Yes (area not stated) | Online lumber orders are milled to order, typically about 2 weeks 'to mill and have ready to ship'; contact page asks shipping questions to include a ZIP code; carriers and area not stated | source (2026-10-16) |
| Odd Wood Lumber | Port Richey, FL | Not stated | No hardwood-lumber shipping policy found; the builders page offers 'pickup or delivery' for building materials; showroom open to the public | source (2026-10-16) |
| SoCalTrim | Wildomar, CA | Yes (local delivery only) | Terms say shipping and delivery is only made to Riverside, San Diego, Orange and San Bernardino counties (LA County delivery for a fee); no shipping elsewhere is stated | source (2026-10-16) |
| The Hardwood Store of NC | Gibsonville, NC | Yes (nationwide) | Own-truck delivery within NC ($59-$89 by area) and UPS/LTL shipments nationwide; call for freight rates; smaller orders can ship by UPS; also pickup at Gibsonville and Salisbury | source (2026-10-16) |
| The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) | Hamilton, ON | Yes (US and Canada) | Ships from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Free shipping to the US and Canada applies to products advertised as free-shipping (lumber packs and bundles); the by-size lumber priced here shows 'Shipping calculated at checkout'. Ships by freight broker, often within 5 business days. Orders to the US may be charged import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees by the carrier, paid by the buyer and not included in the price. Returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Prices are as shown on its US storefront (USD). | source (2026-10-17) · Buy at Knotty (affiliate link) (disclosure) |
| The Wood Shed | Arlington, TX | Not stated | No shipping or delivery policy found; site describes a local wood supply store open to the public (walk-in showroom) | source (2026-10-16) |
| The Wood Yard | Concord, GA | Yes (area not stated) | Online shop lists 'Shipping' and 'Store pickup' options on lumber items; its price list says listed prices are only valid for in-store purchases; carriers and area not stated | source (2026-10-16) |
| Urban Forest Mill | Longmont, CO | Not stated | No shipping or delivery policy found; FAQ says planing, sanding and ripping are done at the showroom 'while you wait' | source (2026-10-16) |
| Wolverine Hardwoods | Allegan, MI | Not stated | No retail shipping policy found; site mentions 'just-in-time delivery' for wholesale and says retail buyers can 'pick a convenient loading and transportation option' | source (2026-10-16) |
| Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier) | Vancouver, WA | Yes (area not stated) | Lumber product pages offer a 'Get Full Delivered Quote' from board footage and delivery ZIP code; carrier and shipping area not stated | source (2026-10-16) |
| Woodworkers Source | Phoenix, AZ | Yes (nationwide) | Ships lumber by FedEx, USPS or truck freight (rate shown by cart estimate or by quote; 84 in. max by ground, longer by LTL freight) and also ships overseas; scheduled pickup at Phoenix, Tempe and Tucson stores | source (2026-10-16) |
Shipping details come from each dealer's own site as of the date shown; “Not stated” means we found no shipping policy, not that the dealer does not ship. Always confirm with the dealer.
Paid for lumber recently? Share it. Reports are reviewed before they appear.
Real hardwood prices by species and region, once a month. Free, unsubscribe anytime.
Ash · Cherry · Hard Maple · Hickory · Mahogany · Poplar · Red Oak · Sapele · Soft Maple · White Oak
Arizona · California · Colorado · Florida · Georgia · Indiana · Massachusetts · Michigan · North Carolina · Ohio · Pennsylvania · Texas · Virginia · Washington
Need to know how many board feet a project takes? Try the free board foot calculator.