Soft Maple price per board foot

How much does soft maple lumber cost? Across 24 publicly posted dealer prices checked in October 2026, soft maple has a median of $6.38 per board foot, ranging $4.75–$9.00. Data comes from dealer price sheets in GA, IN, MA, MI, NC, OH, VA, WA; every price links to its source.

By thickness

ThicknessMedianRangePrices
4/4$5.25$4.75–$8.259
5/4$6.60$4.95–$7.354
6/4$7.08$5.10–$8.604
8/4$6.75$5.35–$9.007

Rough vs surfaced

SurfacingMedianRangePrices
Rough$5.50$4.75–$6.755
Surfaced$5.25$5.25–$5.251
Not stated$6.88$4.75–$9.0018

All soft maple prices

ThickSurfacing$/BFDealerLocationShips?Checked
4/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$4.75Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.75Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.95C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$4.95C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
6/4not stated$5.10C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$5.25Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.35C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough$5.45The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$5.50Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4rough$5.95The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$6.25Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
8/4not stated$6.50Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
8/4rough$6.75The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$6.80Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$6.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$6.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$7.20Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$7.25Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
5/4not stated$7.35Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.60Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$8.25The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$8.60The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$9.00The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16

Do these dealers ship?

DealerLocationShips?What the dealer's site saysWhere we found it
Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup onlyHardwood dimensional lumber 'is typically not available for shipping and is intended for local, on-site purchase only'; the site ships live-edge slabs by freight within the contiguous USsource (2026-10-16)
C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; customers hand-pick lumber at the warehouse, and the site says it serves northern and central Virginia, Richmond 'and beyond'source (2026-10-16)
Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; site describes yard pickup (pick boards or email a list for pickup) and phone, text or online ordering for the Hampton Roads areasource (2026-10-16)
Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site gives shop hours and asks buyers to call to confirm availability before visitingsource (2026-10-16)
Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot statedNo shipping policy found. Site says it serves southwest Michigan incl. Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Detroit and Chicago areas; About page says staff 'sometimes makes deliveries'source (2026-10-16)
KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)Online lumber orders are milled to order, typically about 2 weeks 'to mill and have ready to ship'; contact page asks shipping questions to include a ZIP code; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)Own-truck delivery within NC ($59-$89 by area) and UPS/LTL shipments nationwide; call for freight rates; smaller orders can ship by UPS; also pickup at Gibsonville and Salisburysource (2026-10-16)
The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)Online shop lists 'Shipping' and 'Store pickup' options on lumber items; its price list says listed prices are only valid for in-store purchases; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)Lumber product pages offer a 'Get Full Delivered Quote' from board footage and delivery ZIP code; carrier and shipping area not statedsource (2026-10-16)

Shipping details come from each dealer's own site as of the date shown; “Not stated” means we found no shipping policy, not that the dealer does not ship. Always confirm with the dealer.

Buying tips from the data

Report a price

Paid for lumber recently? Share it. Reports are reviewed before they appear.

Get the monthly Lumber Price Report

Real hardwood prices by species and region, once a month. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Other species

Ash · Cherry · Hard Maple · Hickory · Mahogany · Poplar · Red Oak · Sapele · Walnut · White Oak

Soft Maple prices by state

Arizona · California · Colorado · Florida · Georgia · Indiana · Massachusetts · Michigan · North Carolina · Ohio · Pennsylvania · Texas · Virginia · Washington

Need to know how many board feet a project takes? Try the free board foot calculator.