Poplar price per board foot

How much does poplar lumber cost? Across 38 publicly posted dealer prices checked in October 2026, poplar has a median of $4.00 per board foot, ranging $3.00–$7.99. Data comes from dealer price sheets in AZ, CA, GA, IN, MA, MI, NC, OH, ON, VA; every price links to its source.

By thickness

ThicknessMedianRangePrices
4/4$3.65$3.00–$5.9013
5/4$3.40$3.25–$4.757
6/4$4.75$3.45–$5.997
8/4$4.97$3.50–$7.1410
12/4$7.99$7.99–$7.991

Rough vs surfaced

SurfacingMedianRangePrices
Rough$3.75$3.25–$7.1410
Surfaced$4.99$3.50–$7.997
Not stated$4.00$3.00–$5.9021

All poplar prices

Affiliate partner: The Knotty Lumber Co. is an affiliate partner. If you order through Buy at Knotty (affiliate link), we earn a 10% commission at no extra cost to you. Knotty ships from Canada (Hamilton, Ontario), so US buyers may owe import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees that are not included in the listed prices. That never changes prices, medians, ranges or sort order. Affiliate disclosure.

ThickSurfacing$/BFDealerLocationShips?Checked
4/4not stated$3.00Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$3.15Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
5/4not stated$3.25Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$3.25C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough$3.25The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$3.35C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
5/4rough$3.35The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$3.40Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
4/4not stated$3.45KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$3.45C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
6/4rough$3.45The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$3.50C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4S2S (13/16", sale price (was $4.99))$3.50SoCalTrimWildomar, CAYes (local delivery only)2026-10-16
8/4rough$3.55The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$3.65Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$3.75Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$3.75Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$3.85Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$4.00Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.00Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$4.14Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$4.25Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$4.50Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$4.75KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$4.75Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
6/4not stated$4.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$4.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4S2S (Select & Better)$4.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$5.00Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.00Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.35The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.70The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$5.80The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.90The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
6/4S2S (Select & Better)$5.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4S2S (Select & Better)$6.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$7.14Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
12/4S2S (Select & Better)$7.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16

Do these dealers ship?

DealerLocationShips?What the dealer's site saysWhere we found it
Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)Ships by UPS (small orders) or common-carrier freight (long or large orders), with a shipping estimate by ZIP in the cart; delivers within 100 miles of the plant with its own truck; in-store pickup availablesource (2026-10-16)
Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup onlyHardwood dimensional lumber 'is typically not available for shipping and is intended for local, on-site purchase only'; the site ships live-edge slabs by freight within the contiguous USsource (2026-10-16)
C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; customers hand-pick lumber at the warehouse, and the site says it serves northern and central Virginia, Richmond 'and beyond'source (2026-10-16)
Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; site describes yard pickup (pick boards or email a list for pickup) and phone, text or online ordering for the Hampton Roads areasource (2026-10-16)
Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site gives shop hours and asks buyers to call to confirm availability before visitingsource (2026-10-16)
Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot statedNo shipping policy found. Site says it serves southwest Michigan incl. Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Detroit and Chicago areas; About page says staff 'sometimes makes deliveries'source (2026-10-16)
KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)Online lumber orders are milled to order, typically about 2 weeks 'to mill and have ready to ship'; contact page asks shipping questions to include a ZIP code; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
SoCalTrimWildomar, CAYes (local delivery only)Terms say shipping and delivery is only made to Riverside, San Diego, Orange and San Bernardino counties (LA County delivery for a fee); no shipping elsewhere is statedsource (2026-10-16)
The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)Own-truck delivery within NC ($59-$89 by area) and UPS/LTL shipments nationwide; call for freight rates; smaller orders can ship by UPS; also pickup at Gibsonville and Salisburysource (2026-10-16)
The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate)Hamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)Ships from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Free shipping to the US and Canada applies to products advertised as free-shipping (lumber packs and bundles); the by-size lumber priced here shows 'Shipping calculated at checkout'. Ships by freight broker, often within 5 business days. Orders to the US may be charged import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees by the carrier, paid by the buyer and not included in the price. Returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Prices are as shown on its US storefront (USD).source (2026-10-17) · Buy at Knotty (affiliate link) (disclosure)
The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)Online shop lists 'Shipping' and 'Store pickup' options on lumber items; its price list says listed prices are only valid for in-store purchases; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot statedNo retail shipping policy found; site mentions 'just-in-time delivery' for wholesale and says retail buyers can 'pick a convenient loading and transportation option'source (2026-10-16)
Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)Ships lumber by FedEx, USPS or truck freight (rate shown by cart estimate or by quote; 84 in. max by ground, longer by LTL freight) and also ships overseas; scheduled pickup at Phoenix, Tempe and Tucson storessource (2026-10-16)

Shipping details come from each dealer's own site as of the date shown; “Not stated” means we found no shipping policy, not that the dealer does not ship. Always confirm with the dealer.

Customer-reported small-piece prices

These came from a real order at Baird Brothers Sawmill: small S4S (surfaced, unfinished) pieces sold per piece, converted to $/bf using nominal size (nominal thickness × nominal width × length ÷ 12). Real boards are slightly smaller than nominal, so these run higher per bf than dealer-posted board-foot prices. They are not included in the medians, ranges or tips above.

ThickNotes$/BFDealerLocationSource
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $4.40 for 1x4x3ft nominal (1.0000 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$4.40Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $7.34 for 1x4x5ft nominal (1.6667 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$4.40Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $9.48 for 1x8x3ft nominal (2.0000 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$4.74Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $3.69 for 1x3x3ft nominal (0.7500 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$4.92Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $2.61 for 1x2x3ft nominal (0.5000 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$5.22Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported

Buying tips from the data

Report a price

Paid for lumber recently? Share it. Reports are reviewed before they appear.

Get the monthly Lumber Price Report

Real hardwood prices by species and region, once a month. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Other species

Ash · Cherry · Hard Maple · Hickory · Mahogany · Red Oak · Sapele · Soft Maple · Walnut · White Oak

Poplar prices by state

Arizona · California · Colorado · Florida · Georgia · Indiana · Massachusetts · Michigan · North Carolina · Ohio · Pennsylvania · Texas · Virginia · Washington

Need to know how many board feet a project takes? Try the free board foot calculator.