Hard Maple price per board foot

How much does hard maple lumber cost? Across 47 publicly posted dealer prices checked in October 2026, hard maple has a median of $7.25 per board foot, ranging $4.29–$12.00. Data comes from dealer price sheets in AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, IN, MA, MI, NC, OH, ON, PA, TX, VA, WA; every price links to its source.

By thickness

ThicknessMedianRangePrices
4/4$5.81$4.29–$9.4016
5/4$6.30$5.25–$9.509
6/4$8.40$5.65–$9.996
8/4$8.15$5.95–$11.9913
12/4$9.62$7.25–$12.002
not stated$8.50$8.50–$8.501

Rough vs surfaced

SurfacingMedianRangePrices
Rough$6.95$5.45–$12.0013
Surfaced$8.50$4.29–$11.997
Not stated$7.50$4.75–$10.0027

All hard maple prices

Affiliate partner: The Knotty Lumber Co. is an affiliate partner. If you order through Buy at Knotty (affiliate link), we earn a 10% commission at no extra cost to you. Knotty ships from Canada (Hamilton, Ontario), so US buyers may owe import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees that are not included in the listed prices. That never changes prices, medians, ranges or sort order. Affiliate disclosure.

ThickSurfacing$/BFDealerLocationShips?Checked
4/4S2S (13/16")$4.29SoCalTrimWildomar, CAYes (local delivery only)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.75Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$5.25Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$5.25Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$5.35C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough$5.45The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$5.50Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
6/4not stated$5.65C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.69Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.72Odd Wood LumberPort Richey, FLNot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.90Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$5.90Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.95C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot stated2026-10-16
8/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$6.00Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$6.00Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$6.12Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
5/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$6.21Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$6.30Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
6/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$6.50Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4rough$6.95The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4rough$6.95The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$7.25Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
12/4rough$7.25The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.50Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4KD, hit-and-miss planed (Select & Better)$7.50Urban Forest MillLongmont, CONot stated2026-10-16
6/4not stated$7.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$8.15KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4KD, hit-and-miss planed (Select & Better)$8.25Urban Forest MillLongmont, CONot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$8.35The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
not statedS2S/S3S (FAS)$8.50The Wood ShedArlington, TXNot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$8.65Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$8.80Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$8.85Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4S2S (Select & Better)$8.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$9.00Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4rough$9.00Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade)Oxford, PAYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
6/4KD, hit-and-miss planed (Select & Better)$9.00Urban Forest MillLongmont, CONot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$9.20The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$9.40The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
5/4rough$9.50Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade)Oxford, PAYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$9.70The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
6/4S2S (Select & Better)$9.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
8/4KD, hit-and-miss planed (Select & Better)$10.00Urban Forest MillLongmont, CONot stated2026-10-16
8/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$10.06Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4S2S (Select & Better)$11.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
12/4rough$12.00Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade)Oxford, PAYes (nationwide)2026-10-16

Do these dealers ship?

DealerLocationShips?What the dealer's site saysWhere we found it
Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)Ships by UPS (small orders) or common-carrier freight (long or large orders), with a shipping estimate by ZIP in the cart; delivers within 100 miles of the plant with its own truck; in-store pickup availablesource (2026-10-16)
Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup onlyHardwood dimensional lumber 'is typically not available for shipping and is intended for local, on-site purchase only'; the site ships live-edge slabs by freight within the contiguous USsource (2026-10-16)
C.P. Johnson LumberElkwood, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; customers hand-pick lumber at the warehouse, and the site says it serves northern and central Virginia, Richmond 'and beyond'source (2026-10-16)
Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; site describes yard pickup (pick boards or email a list for pickup) and phone, text or online ordering for the Hampton Roads areasource (2026-10-16)
Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site gives shop hours and asks buyers to call to confirm availability before visitingsource (2026-10-16)
Hearne Hardwoods (FAS grade)Oxford, PAYes (nationwide)Ships by UPS Ground, TForce Freight, ABF, FedEx Freight or Estes; terms quote 2-3 days east of the Mississippi and 7-10 days to the West Coast; international limited to envelope-size samplessource (2026-10-16)
Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot statedNo shipping policy found. Site says it serves southwest Michigan incl. Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Detroit and Chicago areas; About page says staff 'sometimes makes deliveries'source (2026-10-16)
KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)Online lumber orders are milled to order, typically about 2 weeks 'to mill and have ready to ship'; contact page asks shipping questions to include a ZIP code; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Odd Wood LumberPort Richey, FLNot statedNo hardwood-lumber shipping policy found; the builders page offers 'pickup or delivery' for building materials; showroom open to the publicsource (2026-10-16)
SoCalTrimWildomar, CAYes (local delivery only)Terms say shipping and delivery is only made to Riverside, San Diego, Orange and San Bernardino counties (LA County delivery for a fee); no shipping elsewhere is statedsource (2026-10-16)
The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)Own-truck delivery within NC ($59-$89 by area) and UPS/LTL shipments nationwide; call for freight rates; smaller orders can ship by UPS; also pickup at Gibsonville and Salisburysource (2026-10-16)
The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate)Hamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)Ships from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Free shipping to the US and Canada applies to products advertised as free-shipping (lumber packs and bundles); the by-size lumber priced here shows 'Shipping calculated at checkout'. Ships by freight broker, often within 5 business days. Orders to the US may be charged import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees by the carrier, paid by the buyer and not included in the price. Returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Prices are as shown on its US storefront (USD).source (2026-10-17) · Buy at Knotty (affiliate link) (disclosure)
The Wood ShedArlington, TXNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site describes a local wood supply store open to the public (walk-in showroom)source (2026-10-16)
The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)Online shop lists 'Shipping' and 'Store pickup' options on lumber items; its price list says listed prices are only valid for in-store purchases; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Urban Forest MillLongmont, CONot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; FAQ says planing, sanding and ripping are done at the showroom 'while you wait'source (2026-10-16)
Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot statedNo retail shipping policy found; site mentions 'just-in-time delivery' for wholesale and says retail buyers can 'pick a convenient loading and transportation option'source (2026-10-16)
Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)Lumber product pages offer a 'Get Full Delivered Quote' from board footage and delivery ZIP code; carrier and shipping area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)Ships lumber by FedEx, USPS or truck freight (rate shown by cart estimate or by quote; 84 in. max by ground, longer by LTL freight) and also ships overseas; scheduled pickup at Phoenix, Tempe and Tucson storessource (2026-10-16)

Shipping details come from each dealer's own site as of the date shown; “Not stated” means we found no shipping policy, not that the dealer does not ship. Always confirm with the dealer.

Buying tips from the data

Report a price

Paid for lumber recently? Share it. Reports are reviewed before they appear.

Get the monthly Lumber Price Report

Real hardwood prices by species and region, once a month. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Other species

Ash · Cherry · Hickory · Mahogany · Poplar · Red Oak · Sapele · Soft Maple · Walnut · White Oak

Hard Maple prices by state

Arizona · California · Colorado · Florida · Georgia · Indiana · Massachusetts · Michigan · North Carolina · Ohio · Pennsylvania · Texas · Virginia · Washington

Need to know how many board feet a project takes? Try the free board foot calculator.