Red Oak price per board foot

How much does red oak lumber cost? Across 38 publicly posted dealer prices checked in October 2026, red oak has a median of $5.33 per board foot, ranging $3.49–$8.32. Data comes from dealer price sheets in AZ, CA, GA, IN, MA, MI, NC, OH, ON, VA, WA; every price links to its source.

By thickness

ThicknessMedianRangePrices
4/4$4.25$3.49–$7.2013
5/4$4.58$3.75–$7.458
6/4$5.77$4.75–$7.706
8/4$5.95$4.35–$8.3211

Rough vs surfaced

SurfacingMedianRangePrices
Rough$4.55$3.75–$8.3210
Surfaced$5.75$3.49–$6.996
Not stated$5.33$3.50–$7.9522

All red oak prices

Affiliate partner: The Knotty Lumber Co. is an affiliate partner. If you order through Buy at Knotty (affiliate link), we earn a 10% commission at no extra cost to you. Knotty ships from Canada (Hamilton, Ontario), so US buyers may owe import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees that are not included in the listed prices. That never changes prices, medians, ranges or sort order. Affiliate disclosure.

ThickSurfacing$/BFDealerLocationShips?Checked
4/4S2S (13/16")$3.49SoCalTrimWildomar, CAYes (local delivery only)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$3.50Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$3.75Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$3.75Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
4/4rough$3.75The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$3.95KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4rough$3.95The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
5/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$4.00Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.00Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$4.25Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
8/4rough$4.35The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$4.40Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$4.50Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot stated2026-10-16
6/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$4.75Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4not stated$4.75KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$4.95Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
6/4not stated$5.00Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
6/4not stated$5.05KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.25KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$5.40Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup only2026-10-16
4/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$5.47Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4surfaced (S2S, 1 straight edge)$5.50Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot stated2026-10-16
8/4not stated$5.60Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot stated2026-10-16
5/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$5.75Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$5.80The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
8/4rough (KD, Sel&Btr)$5.95Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot stated2026-10-16
4/4S2S (Select & Better)$5.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$6.10The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4S2S (Select & Better)$6.49Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$6.60The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4S2S (Select & Better)$6.99Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)2026-10-16
4/4not stated$7.20Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
5/4not stated$7.45Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.45The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
6/4not stated$7.70Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4not stated$7.70The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate) Affiliate partnerHamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)2026-10-17
8/4not stated$7.95Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)2026-10-16
8/4rough (KD, Face & Better, 7'-8')$8.32Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)2026-10-16

Do these dealers ship?

DealerLocationShips?What the dealer's site saysWhere we found it
Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHYes (area not stated)Ships by UPS (small orders) or common-carrier freight (long or large orders), with a shipping estimate by ZIP in the cart; delivers within 100 miles of the plant with its own truck; in-store pickup availablesource (2026-10-16)
Berkshire ProductsSheffield, MAPickup onlyHardwood dimensional lumber 'is typically not available for shipping and is intended for local, on-site purchase only'; the site ships live-edge slabs by freight within the contiguous USsource (2026-10-16)
Cygnus LumberVirginia Beach, VANot statedNo shipping policy found; site describes yard pickup (pick boards or email a list for pickup) and phone, text or online ordering for the Hampton Roads areasource (2026-10-16)
Detwiler Hardwood LumberIndianapolis, INNot statedNo shipping or delivery policy found; site gives shop hours and asks buyers to call to confirm availability before visitingsource (2026-10-16)
Hickory & Oak LumberDecatur, MINot statedNo shipping policy found. Site says it serves southwest Michigan incl. Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Detroit and Chicago areas; About page says staff 'sometimes makes deliveries'source (2026-10-16)
KenCraft CompanyToledo, OHYes (area not stated)Online lumber orders are milled to order, typically about 2 weeks 'to mill and have ready to ship'; contact page asks shipping questions to include a ZIP code; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
SoCalTrimWildomar, CAYes (local delivery only)Terms say shipping and delivery is only made to Riverside, San Diego, Orange and San Bernardino counties (LA County delivery for a fee); no shipping elsewhere is statedsource (2026-10-16)
The Hardwood Store of NCGibsonville, NCYes (nationwide)Own-truck delivery within NC ($59-$89 by area) and UPS/LTL shipments nationwide; call for freight rates; smaller orders can ship by UPS; also pickup at Gibsonville and Salisburysource (2026-10-16)
The Knotty Lumber Co. (affiliate)Hamilton, ONYes (US and Canada)Ships from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Free shipping to the US and Canada applies to products advertised as free-shipping (lumber packs and bundles); the by-size lumber priced here shows 'Shipping calculated at checkout'. Ships by freight broker, often within 5 business days. Orders to the US may be charged import duties, tariffs or brokerage fees by the carrier, paid by the buyer and not included in the price. Returns carry a 20% restocking fee. Prices are as shown on its US storefront (USD).source (2026-10-17) · Buy at Knotty (affiliate link) (disclosure)
The Wood YardConcord, GAYes (area not stated)Online shop lists 'Shipping' and 'Store pickup' options on lumber items; its price list says listed prices are only valid for in-store purchases; carriers and area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Wolverine HardwoodsAllegan, MINot statedNo retail shipping policy found; site mentions 'just-in-time delivery' for wholesale and says retail buyers can 'pick a convenient loading and transportation option'source (2026-10-16)
Wood Vendors (100-249 BF tier)Vancouver, WAYes (area not stated)Lumber product pages offer a 'Get Full Delivered Quote' from board footage and delivery ZIP code; carrier and shipping area not statedsource (2026-10-16)
Woodworkers SourcePhoenix, AZYes (nationwide)Ships lumber by FedEx, USPS or truck freight (rate shown by cart estimate or by quote; 84 in. max by ground, longer by LTL freight) and also ships overseas; scheduled pickup at Phoenix, Tempe and Tucson storessource (2026-10-16)

Shipping details come from each dealer's own site as of the date shown; “Not stated” means we found no shipping policy, not that the dealer does not ship. Always confirm with the dealer.

Customer-reported small-piece prices

These came from a real order at Baird Brothers Sawmill: small S4S (surfaced, unfinished) pieces sold per piece, converted to $/bf using nominal size (nominal thickness × nominal width × length ÷ 12). Real boards are slightly smaller than nominal, so these run higher per bf than dealer-posted board-foot prices. They are not included in the medians, ranges or tips above.

ThickNotes$/BFDealerLocationSource
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $3.94 for 1x4x2ft nominal (0.6667 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$5.91Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $2.96 for 1x3x2ft nominal (0.5000 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$5.92Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $7.90 for 1x8x2ft nominal (1.3333 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$5.93Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
4/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $15.40 for 1x12x2ft nominal (2.0000 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$7.70Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
5/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $33.16 for 1.25x10x4ft nominal (4.1667 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$7.96Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
8/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $6.16 for 2x2x2ft nominal (0.6667 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$9.24Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported
8/4S4S unfinished; per-piece $6.78 for 2x2x2ft nominal (0.6667 bf) converted to $/bf; order date unknown$10.17Baird Brothers SawmillCanfield, OHcustomer-reported

Buying tips from the data

Report a price

Paid for lumber recently? Share it. Reports are reviewed before they appear.

Get the monthly Lumber Price Report

Real hardwood prices by species and region, once a month. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

Other species

Ash · Cherry · Hard Maple · Hickory · Mahogany · Poplar · Sapele · Soft Maple · Walnut · White Oak

Red Oak prices by state

Arizona · California · Colorado · Florida · Georgia · Indiana · Massachusetts · Michigan · North Carolina · Ohio · Pennsylvania · Texas · Virginia · Washington

Need to know how many board feet a project takes? Try the free board foot calculator.